CMBC AGM 2017 Saturday, November 18, 2017 L'Afy

Board members present: Julie DesBrisay, Sierra Van Der Meer, Sammy Salter, Paul Burbidge, Valerie Girard, Jenn Roberts, Dan Bader, Thaidra Sloane, Guillaume Levesque, Georgi Pearson, Heather LeDuc (minutes)

Other members present: approximately 25

Sierra called the meeting to order 6:45 pm

- 1. Motion to approve agenda. Dan B. moved, Sammy seconded.
- 2. Motion to approve minutes from 2016 AGM. Julie moved, Dan seconded.
- 3. President's report Sierra's last report after seven years as president highlighted many great projects that happened this year, many of them the culmination of years of working with community partners:
 - Grey Mountain Dream trail led by the Youth Achievement Centre.
 - Mt. Sima operating with great success and huge line-ups this summer.
 - Annual events and programs including huge numbers at Dirt Girls, another gravity camp, successful 24 Hours of Light and King of Canyon.
 - The Builders' Project exhibit created by Jenn Roberts and Anthony De Lorenzo, a celebration of mountain bikers and people who have built the community.

Sierra also recognized three individuals in other community organizations who are helping to make mountain biking great

- Mark Daniels, President of the Klondike Snowmobile Association, has been a trail-blazer for multi-use trail infrastructure in Whitehorse, and the KSA has been a great ally for CMBC. More recently fat bikers have also benefited from trails built or maintained by the association.
- Bill Curtis, President of Biathlon Yukon, welcomed the 24 Hours of Light event to the biathlon facility, allowed us to open to trails on their land, and worked with CMBC to make trails available for for multi-use. They also help run the bike biathlon.
- Jan Polivka from the Whitehorse Cross Country Ski Club has been pushing for access for snow biking on Mount McIntyre. This year there is a new re-route on cancan.

Sierra thanked everyone for letting her be the self-appointed Queen of Mountain biking; she's excited for someone new to wear the crown.

Motion to approve the President's report. Dave Pharand moved, Sammy seconded

- 4. Treasurer's report Sammy provided a few highlights from the finances: Net positive of a little over \$5000
 - Highlights for revenue include MOU with City of Whitehorse for trail maintenance, \$1000 in support from Medicine Chest to sponsor Dirt Girls, and donations through Trail Forks. In the "Other" category for expenses, worth noting are donations to

Singletrack to Success (\$1600), to the Flying Caribou Society for Carcross Enduro, and \$3000 to the Youth Achievement Centre for Grey Mountain Dream.

Motion to approve Treasurer's Report. Kris Gardner moved, Thaidra seconded.

- 5. Julie announced the Volunteer of the Year, Kris Gardner, who led 50% of Dirt Girl rides, is a former board member and treasurer, and a volunteer at several events for many years. Kris was presented with a custom-made bag by Georgi and gift certificates to the local bike shops. Honourable mention went to Heather for various volunteer activities; lan Parker for building the amazing cycle-cross fly-over; and Paul Gowdie for many years of photographing events. Paul also developed the trail map and apps which have been such great resources for mountain bikers.
- 6. Paul presented the Chris McNeill Award for trail development and stewardship to Josh de la Salle for the millions if not trillions hours of work he put into Mount Sima as well as always being the keenest guy to help on all trail projects.
- 7. 2018 Board elections

Executive

Secretary – Dan B. nominated Nora Hehemann – Acclaimed Treasurer – Sammy nominated Christine Prescott – Acclaimed Vice president – Josh de la Salle nominates Jaylene Goort; declined Sierra nominates Julie – acclaimed President – Julie nominates Sammy Salter – acclaimed

Directors:

Communications – Sierra nominates Dan B. – acclaimed Trails – Sammy nominates Scott Keesey – acclaimed Recreation – no nominations or volunteers

Directors at large Sierra nominates Guillaume Levesque

Dan B nominates Jaylene Goort Emily Jarvis nominates James Mitchell Carrie Burbidge nominates Paul Burbidge Erik Miller - would be fine being a multi-tool if there are enough directors Multi-tools Sierra Van Der Meer Mariah Witham Amanda Taylor Maude Craig Malcolm Mills Daniel Dao Dale Heffernan Valerie Girard Thaidra Sloane Georgi Pearson will be the Dirt Girl Coordinator. 8. Membership fees: Sierra introduced motion that membership fees remain at \$15 Valerie moved, Sammy seconded, carried Sammy recognized Sierra's incredible legacy as president, including building relationships with the City of Whitehorse to achieve a multi-use trail network. As well, Sierra has been the leader and organizer of literally "all of the things." Meeting adjourned at approximately 7:15 p.m. Contact information for new people James Mitchell -Dale Heffernan -Mariah Witham -Nora Hehemann –

Jaylene Goorts –

Christine Prescott –	
Amanda Taylor –	
Malcom Mills –	
Maude Craig –	- interested in recreation director
Daniel Dao –	